The farm itself dates back to the early 1800’s and at that time was owned by Miron Sexton. Clay from Sawmill Creek was used to make the bricks for the original portion of the farmhouse. Through the years, five additions were added to the house, each containing its own chimney for the necessary stoves. Pauline Sexton, Miron’s wife, died in 1844 and her tombstone is found on the property.
In 1889, the water storage tank house, next to the pump was built and a windmill was added in 1935. The windmill was used to pump water from the well underneath into the storage tank. In 1969, when Robert Bruns sold the farm to the Sawmill Creek Association, a decision had to be made to preserve either the outside of the barn or the inside.
Sawmill Creek Shops offers a unique selection of clothing, unique gifts and accessories for all ages and all styles!
"Wide variety of very special items. From clothing to jewelry to home decor and unusual gifts, it's a place worth checking out. The building itself is a neat place to walk through. Lots of treasures in there for sure. When we have out of town guests, they like shopping there. They have area souvenirs too, but not your typical T-shirt stuff."
-- YELP review 2020 - Irene K., Eastlake, OH